RM Shop



Accord Management

Cartea de nisip


Maximum Rock Magazin

Sun&Moon Records

Transylvania Music



free counters

RM Media


Wetton / Downes iCon

Frontiers Records is pleased to announce the release of Wetton/Downes iCon new original studio album "3" on March 13th 2009.

Since the start of their new artistic union in 2002, John Wetton and Geoffrey Downes have produced several superb releases. During 2004 when they finally sat again around the same piano upon which they had written the 80's anthems, they emerged with the first album of their renewed partnership christened "iCon": an outstanding musical creation that met with the unanimous fan and critical acclaim.

John and Geoff therefore decided to pursue this collaboration, giving birth to another outstanding album "Rubicon" in 2006, which followed one EP, one acoustic album/DVD and one live album recorded during a series of successful European dates from October 2005 to spring 2006.

John Wetton and Geoffrey Downes' songwriting formed much of the fabric of 2008's successful Asia original lineup reunion release: "Phoenix" an excellent record which gathered great chart success all over the world.

While Asia is on a temporary hiatus (the band will be back in 2009 for more dates), fans have demanded more from Wetton and Downes; the two enjoy each other's company and love writing together. They were happy to oblige, so the duo took advantage of a short break from international touring in 2008 to write and record their third iCon studio album. The cover art is based on the OM symbol, a universal syllable, not specific to one religion meaning "everything" as a reflection the diverse nature of the album's musical offering.

On the record, the pure power of Geoff Downes' keyboards and John Wetton's jaw-dropping voice and stellar bass playing are enhanced by the performances of the compelling guitar virtuoso Dave Kilminster, fresh from successful tours with Roger Waters and Keith Emerson and former ELO cellist Hugh McDowell, whose unique sound has helped frame all three iCon studio releases. Rounding out the band is Pete Riley, whose work with Keith Emerson, Kilminster and extensive live and session work shows an extraordinary breadth and depth of style.

Renowned new age harpist Andreas Vollenweider also appears as special guest, adding his unique sound to the album, playing on "Raven'" and "Anna's Kiss'", while acclaimed vocalist Anne-Marie Helder (Karnataka, Mostly Autumn) appears as special guest on vocals on several songs.

The new album tracklisting will include the following songs (mp3 clip samples available):
Twice The Man I Was; Destiny; Green Lights and Blue Skies; Raven; Sex, Power and Money; Anna's Kiss; Under The Sky; Don't Go Out Tonight; Never Thought I'd See You Again; Peace In Our Time.

Weblinks: www.johnwetton.com // www.geoffreydownes.com // www.myspace.com/wettondownesicon // www.frontiers.it // www.myspace.com/frontiersrecords

Vissza - Înapoi

Copyright © 2005-2013 RM Media. All rights reserved!